The Peoria Housing Authority is committed to providing affordable housing opportunities for all of the citizens living in an area generally known as “Central Illinois.” In addition, through the development of strong partnerships with current residents and appropriate community agencies, the Peoria Housing Authority seeks to develop new programs (Housing, Social, Educational) to enhance the quality of life for residents, thereby offering numerous opportunities for self-sufficiency.

Board of Commissioners

Office Name Appointed Expires
Chairman Carl Cannon 10/14/2003 06/30/2021
Vice Chair Helen King 06/27/2017 06/30/2023
Treasurer Kadar Heffner 03/12/2019 06/30/2021
Secretary Latacha Peary 07/27/2021 06/30/2022
Commissioner Alma Brown 04/08/2014 06/30/2022
Commissioner Kim Furness 08/27/2019 06/30/2023
Commissioner Robert Culp 09/14/2021 06/30/2024

  Board Meetings for 2022
January 10 July 05 (Tuesday)
February 07 August 01
March 07 September 06 (Tuesday)
April 04 October 03
May 02 November 07
June 06 December 05

All meetings will occur at 4:30 pm at the Peoria Housing Authority Administrative Building, 100 S. Richard Pryor Place, Peoria, IL 61605 unless posted otherwise.

Jackie L. Newman - Chief Executive Officer

Jackie L. Newman has served as Executive Director of the Springfield Housing Authority since June 2005. Jackie started with the organization in 1985 through the Springfield Urban League’s On-The-Job Training Program as a Clerk Typist on a temporary appointment. Jackie has since held positions as Human Resources Manager, Director of Section 8, Deputy Director, and now Executive Director.

She also serves as Chief Executive Officer of Peoria Housing Authority since April 2018.

Jackie obtained her Bachelor’s degree in Management, Master of Arts in Public Administration and currently is finalizing her Dissertation for her Doctoral Degree in Public Administration from the University of Illinois at Springfield.

Jackie takes part in a number of groups addressing poverty and homelessness. She serves as President of the Illinois National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials, 1st Vice President of the Illinois Association of Housing Authorities; Chair of the Community Investment Advisory Council for the Chicago Federal Home Loan Bank; Board member, Housing Action Illinois and other Boards advocating for affordable housing. Jackie was named a “Woman of Influence” as sponsored by Security Bank and the Springfield Business Journal and “Woman of Excellence” as sponsored by the YWCA.

Jackie L. Newman Chief Executive Officer execadmin@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14002
Shanda Green Director of Human Resources SGreen@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17316
Amy Pollitt Executive Assistant apollitt@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14002
Tanora Griffin Receptionist tgriffin@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17300

Theresa Switzer Director of Finance TSwitzer@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17311
Wendy Phillips Senior Accountant WPhillips@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14012
Ernest Jackson Staff Accountant ejackson2@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14010
Joe Miller Accounting Clerk accountspayable@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14013
Debra Blake Tenant Accounts Receivable Clerk DBlake@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14016

  Modernization, Development & Procurement
Jordan Sondag Director of MOD JSondag@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17312
Pam Pesha-Ahten Contract Administrator PPesha-Ahten@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14024
Antionette Riley Procurement Specialist ARiley@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14017

  Housing Choice Voucher
Aldisa Jordan Director of HCV AJordan@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17321
Stacy Duren HCV Manger SDuren@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14050
Natasha Yarbrough Eligibility Clerk nyarbrough@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14053
Khadijah Carthan HCV Leasing Specialist (Last Name A-F) kcarthan@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14038
Venus Black HCV Leasing Specialist (Last Name G-Mi) vblack@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14051
Tonya Pollard HCV Leasing Specialist (Last Name Mo-T) TPollard@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14054
Denise Vaughn HCV Leasing Specialist (Last Name U- Z) DVaughn@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14044
Lysandra Foreman Inspector LForeman@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14052
Alvin Hughes Inspector AHughes@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14035
Vacant Program Integrity Specialist ext. 14028

  Public Housing
Monica Johnson Director of Asset Management MJohnson@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17324
Earnest McCall Safety & Security Administrator EMcCall@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17310
Vacant Eligibility Clerk ext. 14079
Vacant Program Integrity Specialist ext. 17319
Harrison Homes
Jackie McAvin Asset Manager JMcavin@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14106
Vacant Assistant Asset Manager ext. 14067
Sterling Towers & Scattered Sites
Jimmey Garry Asset Manager JGarry@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17335
Chad Clayton Security Guard CClayton@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14042
Turanna Hart Assistant Asset Manager THart@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14092

Charlie Randle Harrison Homes
Cher Bitner Harrison Homes
Steve Landry Harrison Homes
Victor McElmurry Harrison Homes
Robert Wilkinson Scattered Sites
Wes Mogler Scattered Sites
Matt Johnson Scattered Sites
Dan Curtis Sterling Towers
Dan Dowell Sterling Towers

  Supportive Services & Self-Sufficiency
Vacant Family Self-Sufficiency Coordinator - HCV ext. 14104
Vernon Thomas Family Self-Sufficiency Coordinator - Public Housing VThomas@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 14061
Holly Quarles Supportive Services Manager HQuarlesRoss@pha.peoria.il.us ext. 17340